Soapbox Science 2021 Ottawa

We are excited to be hosting our 3rd annual Soapbox Science event in Canada’s Capital – Ottawa! The event will be held online, in both official languages (French and English) and will showcase the amazing work that women do in the fields of science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM). We hope you will join us for what is sure to be an engaging experience. Our team members, comprised of academics and professionals are delighted to bring a new experience to Ottawa. We hope our event will help inspire young students to engage in the wonderful world of STEMM.

The event will be hosted virtually. More information on how to join the event here.

Wednesday, September 22nd, 2021

From 1-3PM

Thursday, September 23rd, 2021

From 6-8PM


  • Eliza Ali, PhD Student, Department of Neuroscience, Carleton University/ Merali Lab, The Royal’s Institute of Mental Health Research
  • Dr. Onita Basu, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Carleton University
  • Dr. Irem Bor-Yaliniz, Senior Research Engineer/Huawei Canada Research Center
  • Dr. Claire Deschênes, Professor Emeritus, Université Laval
  • Dr. Jodi Edwards, Scientist/Assistant Professor, University of Ottawa Heart Institute/University of Ottawa
  • Dr. Monica Granados, Senior Policy Analyst, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Dr. Gracielle Higino, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Adina Luican-Mayer, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, University of Ottawa
  • Niki Mavragani, Ph.D. Student, University of Ottawa
  • Dr. Nirosha J. Murugan, Assistant Professor in Health Science, Algoma University
  • Dr. Sangeeta Murugtar, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Carleton University
  • Dawn Pratt, Founder/STEM Educator/Chemist, Askenootow STEM
  • Dr. Jagdeep K. Sandhu, Senior Research Officer/Adjunct Professor, National Research Council Canada/University of Ottawa
  • Dr. Julie Mireille Thériault, Professor and Canada Research Chair in Extreme winter weather events
  • Dr. Liette Vasseur, Full Professor, Brock University
  • Dr. Winnie Ye, Professor, Carleton University